Carlos' NBA Stats App Journal

Hello there!

This is my first time trying a cwc challenge, so I’ll do my best to showcase what I’m currently working on.

I decided to work with the sportsdata.io API since it seems to be the easiest to use and it’s free.

To get all the data I needed for the basics requirements I used

• Games By Date api
  • Standings api for the rank and wins/losses
  • Teams api for the Teams’ full name, logo url and conference.

Maybe I’m going to use other apis in the future to add more features to my app.

So far so good! I only tested the Teams api by displaying all the teams in the UIPicker for the Settings tab where you can pick your favourite team. I’ve also set a favouriteTeam property inside my MainTabBarController in order to keep track of the last selection that the user made.

Next up is the Standings tab…

You can do this! :+1:

Hello,

So into the Standings tab, the data I needed for this was:

• The full name of the team
  • Its conference rank
  • Its logo
  • The win - losses count
  • The conference of the team

Unfortunately I couldn’t use a single struct to store all this data because it comes from two different apis, maybe it’s possible, but I decided to create two models, one for Team and one for TeamStats and I added the teamID as a join parameter between the two structs. This did the job.

The hardest part was laying out all the items inside the table view cells since I used Storyboard and I had to figure out the different measures in order to fit everything without any weird stretch or clipping.

For the team’s logo I used the SVGKit library that I found very easy to use.

Finally I also added added the little star close to the user’s favourite team.

This is what it looks like both in light and dark mode!

2 Likes

Very nice

Thanks man! :smiley:

1 Like

Alright so last tab, the Games tab.