How do I make sure that I OWN my app? HELP!

Hey. So I’ve been working with a developer since 2014. Never even met the guy but he’s from India and he seems like a great dude because I’m still doing projects with him.

I gave him the mock ups/prototype for my App ideas and he makes them come to life.

I trust him, so he has my Apple ID and password. He’s do all the coding for the app AND the backend. He can update my app whenever he wants. He basically controls everything.

So question,

After we have 100% completed the app, what do I need to obtain from him that LEGALLY makes me the owner? Should I remove his device from my Apple ID after he’s done with my project? Do I change all my passwords after I finish with him? What documents do I need?

Basically so he doesn’t rob me for my ownership.

Plz help. !!!

Thanks man

Ahmad

Hi Ahmed -

First of all, i’m not very qualified to answer the question, as I haven’t even logged on to a developer account before… but i’m certainly willing to give my (lay) two cents on this:

I guess in my head I separate out the ‘legal’ protection from the ‘practical’ protection.
legally you can own the IP, but that would only likely protect you (I’m guessing) to the extent that you’d be willing to make a legal claim in his country/territory.
To suitably protect yourself legally, my guess is that you would need some sort of signed agreement from him stating that all Intellectual Property that he has created whilst working alongside / for you in respect of is owned fully and exclusively by you and revoking any IP claim he may have over it . Obviously though, that might be a touch difficult/awkward to create such an agreement and have him formally sign it, so maybe a second (less secure) level would be to obtain various emails/written text stating that it was ‘your’ app all his work was for, and that he was just a paid consultant (rather than a co-collaborator or co-creator).