Label not updating

Hi, I’m new to coding, and am attempting to build a to-do list app. I have created a table view, and in the cell, there is an accessory button. In the view controller, I wrote:
‘’’
func tableView(_ tableView: UITableView, accessoryButtonTappedForRowWith indexPath: IndexPath) {
let mdvc = storyboard?.instantiateViewController(identifier: “MoreDetailController”) as? MoreDetailController

print(mdvc!.titleLabel?.text) //prints nil

mdvc?.titleLabel?.text = tasks[indexPath.row].name
    print(tasks[indexPath.row].name) //prints correct name        
    print(mdvc!.titleLabel?.text) //prints nil

self.navigationController?.pushViewController(mdvc!, animated: true)
}

‘’’
In this code, it changes the view controller (this is successful when I run the app), yet the value of mdvc!.titleLabel?.text stays nil, even though tasks[indexPath.row].name is not nil (I printed this to make sure). To be clear, when this code runs, the page changes, the label on the new page does not. The code prints: nil, “Name of Task”, nil. For more clarification: in the new view controller called MoreDetailController,
‘’’
@IBOutlet weak var titleLabel: UILabel!
‘’’

I think the issue is to do with optional chaining but I can’t get it right, can someone please help me get the label text to become the tasks[indexPath.row].name? Thanks!

Are you using the built it label and accessoryview of the uitableviewcell or did you customize one in the storyboard?

I think I am using the built-in label of the uitabeviewcell: it is a little i with a circle on it. I declared it in the func tableView(_ tableView: UITableView, cellForRowAt indexPath: IndexPath) -> UITableViewCell {

cell.accessoryType = .detailDisclosureButton

return cell
}

usually if you use built-in labels its like this

for the normal label you have
[cell].textLabel!.text = “”

for the detail label you have
[cell].detailTextLabel!.text = “”

if the imageview you have
[cell].imageView!.image = [add UIImage here]