Learn Courses My Dashboard

Module 0 for Complete Beginners

Hi Chris

Would there be any plans to create a module for complete beginnners who want to learn programming from scratch? Like level 0?

I realise you have Module 1 for that. But for example at the lesson 3 or so - you already ask to pause the video and try to attempt to code it yourself - this is valuable, but that just thows me off straighaway as it clearly expect me to know some programming (which from previous courses and theore I do), but in reallity unfortunatley I have no idea what I need to do or where to even start. And the following challenges, for example in Mod 1 - Lesson 12 - is just way too advanced for my simple mind.

It’d be very helpful to have, I don’t know, maybe some kind of series of exercises or something to get a hang of basics - how do you start to code, where do you always declare variables and why there and not somewhere else, what goes next and why etc etc. Best practices kind of thing maybe.

(But then again, I might be an exception that I can’t learn programming mindset, and may not be valuable to anyone else.)

Hope this makes sense.

Thank you for your consideration.
Oke

Hi Oke, you should watch this series. These videos are the basics of Swift, the programming language. Without doing actual iOS development

2 Likes

Thank you, I’ll go though those videos. The basics of swift, variables, declarations, arrays, if statements etc, are not the problem - I understand them and I can follow Chris in a lesson 100%.

But when it comes to creating something by myself - eg to do a challenge, I often have no idea what to do, where to start, what is needed, what is not needed - how to think about what is needed and why.