SirNova's First App Challenge - NBA Stats

Ok so here goes with my first app challenge. I’ve been learning Swift code (both SwiftUI and UIKit) for about 2 months now and feel like this would be a good time to take on a challenge. I may not have all the skills yet to produce a working app in time for the challenge deadline, but surely that’s part of the fun…right? Anyways I think the best place to start is with the data and API’s so here goes.

I guess the best place to start is with the recommended data source, SportsData.io. So after signing up for a free trial, I’ve started to look over the API documentation. Wow there is a lot in there, but as a developer in other languages, I certainly appreciate the need not only for documentation, but for GOOD documentation that is clear, precise, and well organised.
After opening up a few API call points, it’s getting a bit confusing without seeing the data in a logical format. Time to open up a JSON parser. I’ve gone for one recommended by Chris himself in the YouTube app build, JSONLint. That’s much better and makes so much more sense to understand what data is available.
My first thoughts are that this is going to take a few different API calls to get different data depending on the screen. It also looks like the ‘Data Dictionary’ is going to become a best friend. I can see why this is a recommended data source, but I think I would be foolish not to look at other sources. To Google it is…

So the first API website I click on is RapidAPI. It seems pretty good and looks like it gives some definition as to the end-points available, but nowhere near that of SportsData.io. Also it only allows up-to 25 API calls per day for free until they begin to charge. Although I don’t particularly plan on accessing the API’s and data all that much, I think at this stage it would be wise to stay away from any payment plans.