SpriteKit: Exchanging image on tap?

Hey, coders. I am a beginner/intermediate coder, just learning SpriteKit. I am making an addition/subtraction game for my Kindergarten students that involves a playing card that needs to be changed on tap. I can do this in UIKit, but I want to do this with sprites since the rest of the game is developed in SpriteKit. I can’t find an action that does what I want: an animation with texture is the closest, but that doesn’t cut it exactly because on tap down the card returns to its normal state, and the cards are not selected randomly.

A card says ‘5-3’, students answer and move game piece. Next student must tap the card to change. I will need this action to select a random card. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Sincerely,
Karrin Burns

Hi Karrin,

Welcome to the Code Crew community.

I’ve had a little experience with SpriteKit so I’ll try and help.

Are the cards that you are displaying on screen an image with the math question as part of the image or are you overlaying text onto a background which provides the math question?

Thank you, and sorry for the delay. Here is a photo of my game scene. What I would like to do is make the card (sprite) change to a random card on tap. What I learned from the UIKit war game app was to assign each card a number, then the onTap action would assign a random card.
@IBAction func dealButton(_ sender: Any) {

let leftNumber = Int.random(in: 2...14)
    let rightNumber = Int.random(in: 2...14)

leftCard.image = UIImage(named: "card\(leftNumber)")
    rightCard.image = UIImage(named: "card\(rightNumber)")

I can’t figure out how to do this with a sprite, though; and I am not clever enough yet to figure out how to integrate UIKit into my game.

Any ideas?

Sorry, forgot to answer your question: it is an image, not text overlay. However, I am not averse to doing a text overlay if it can select random expressions on tap (5 - 3, 10 - 5, 6 + 2, etc).