Accessing Image(x) from the Camera Roll and or Photo Library

I am new to Swift and SwiftUI with an eagerness to learn.

What I thought to be a very simple task seems to either be difficult or impossible?

My app has 2 options. Randomly pick an image from the camera roll or get image(x). This needs to be done without user intervention. I understand there are privacy restrictions but I believe you can set the user to allow access?

I found something on stackoverflow.com. It mentions getting the last 3 images from the photo library. From what I understand and was reading there isn’t enough memory to load the entire library? Swift - how to get last taken 3 photos from photo library?

I feel like there has to be a way to ask Swift (prefer SwiftUI) to showmeimage(x).

Any help is beyond appreciated. I have been at this for 2 weeks and though I am a beginner I feel confident I can make this happen.

Hi Craig,

Welcome to the Code Crew community.

What have you implemented in code so far in order to get this project working?

1 Like

Hi @Chris_Parker,

Thank you very much for your quick reply. At this point it is more of “can it be done” I have been unable to find any code or samples with the exception of the stackoverflow question I came across.

In my C# experience I would do something like this.

var cameraImages = GetImagesFromCameraRoll()

// Now I have an array of camera images

cameraImages.Count() // this gives me a count of all images on the camera roll

Image(cameraImages(10)) // would show me the 10th picture in my camera roll.

That is what I am hoping to accomplish.