Aerokeith's iOS Journal

Hi! I just completed (and thoroughly enjoyed) the 14 Day Beginner Challenge (SwiftUI), and have now signed up for CWC+. I already have a moderate amount of software development experience (mostly C and a little C++), but I’m looking forward to learning about Swift/SwiftUI syntax and the associated iOS app programming paradigms.

I’m a sort-of-retired aerospace systems engineer, and a couple of years ago I started a 1-person company to develop LED lighting systems for large art installations, like those seen at Burning Man and Area 51 in Las Vegas. These systems are driven by a fairly powerful but very inexpensive microcontroller (sometimes several), using an Arduino-compatible software framework. Although there’s no real RTOS, my software supports cooperative multitasking and typically runs 20+ separate “tasks”. Lots of I/O.

I’ve been looking for an existing app that will allow me to use my iPhone as a wireless GUI to configure and control the artwork lighting, ideally using Bluetooth (BLE) as the interface. None of the existing apps meet all my needs, so I decided to buckle down and learn how develop my own. So far I’m optimistic that I’ll be able to produce something that’s “just right” for me, and maybe will also be useful to others developing similar types of embedded controllers.

Let’s go!

1 Like

I’ve started the iOS Foundations (SwiftUI) course, and just completed the Module 2 Lesson 2 Challenge (deck of cards). I managed to complete it without looking at the hints, but it wasn’t easy. I knew exactly what needed to be done, but I struggled with two things:

1. Syntax for declaring an array of Structs, and properly instantiating the array members
  2. Figuring out that the deck structure needed to be made Equatable to enable searching/comparison

I finally arrived at the solution with a combination of Google searches, trial and error, and attempting to decipher the semi-cryptic Xcode error messages and suggestions. Whew!