Animations not always showing

Hi everyone, a relative newbie here looking for advice and a simple solution.

We are trying to create a memory game based on flashing colours, basically, when the game starts it will flash 1 of 4 buttons, and store the number of the button in an array, eventually, when we get to the coding for this part we well tap the relevant buttons in the correct order.

The issue that I am having if for say the buttons are 3, 1, 2, 0 it will flash them all correctly, but if the sequence is 3, 1, 1, 0 it will flash 3 and then 1, longer delay than expected and then flash 0

The relevant part of code is

func randomNumbers() {
    memoryColour.append(Int.random(in: 0 ..< 4))
    let numberOfGoes = memoryColour.count - 1
    for flash in 0...numberOfGoes {
        delaySec = Double(Double(flash) * 1.025)
        displayOrder(sender1: allButtons[memoryColour[flash]], colour3: colour4[memoryColour[flash]] )
    }
    //        print(memoryColour)
}

func displayOrder(sender1: UIButton, colour3: UIColor ) {
    UIViewPropertyAnimator.runningPropertyAnimator(withDuration: 0.5, delay: TimeInterval(delaySec), options: [.autoreverse], animations: {sender1.backgroundColor = .black}, completion: { _ in
        sender1.backgroundColor = colour3
    })
}

Any suggestions appreciated

Thank you

oh so you want to skip same number flash?, then i suggest putting an if, have a variable like lastFlash

then check if lastFlash != currentFlash so you dont need to call displayOrder if the condition is false

Hi, sorry for the long delay in responding it’s a crazy world we are living in

What I actually want to do is the opposite of your suggestion. if button 1 appears 3 times in a row in the random generation, then the button will flash 3 times, with m code it only flashes once.

Thanks for your help