Business in App creation

Hey Community,

I am a new user on the start of Module 5. I wanted to hear from anyone who have used these lessons and go on to create a financially successful app or a business creating apps for others.

The lessons are actually really good and as a former student on Treehouse, the OG, I find Chris’s lessons much more practical.

Give us a comment of how you have used these lessons to make a profitable business to give us newbies some inspo.

1 Like

Check out the Journal Section. One’s making an Anger Management app, another’s built a few apps that’s on the App Store, and “Two best friends starting a business” has a really good story to it

1 Like

I’m now an iOS developer (as my 9-5 job) and freelancer, and I started with Chris’ courses.

So it’s netted me in 6 figures by starting here :slight_smile:

Still working on making my own apps, because being financially successful in the App Store is tough, but it’s possible

3 Likes

Thats awesome! fantastic story, & good on you. Exactly what I was looking for.

Mind me asking what you did before this? Also, how long did it take to get to that point & did you just apply for a job?

I find it interesting, because doing the course you’d get the skills but I’m afraid because its not coming from a university/college they would look past me.

1 Like

Thank you, ill check them out for sure.

Keep a portfolio of the App’s you have created (Github is probably the best place) and try to get yourself an App in the App Store. Counter their argument of requiring a university degree with hard facts regarding what you have achieved. Don’t take no for an answer and counter with “Just give me a chance” even if it means banging on doors to plead your case.

2 Likes

I worked in manufacturing. I also don’t have a CS degree. It matters to some companies, but generally that’s changing. It’s 100% possible to get a job without a degree