Change all view controllers background from one view controller

I am a beginner to programming and I am trying to create an app which has like 5 view controllers. One of the 5 view controllers is the settings view controller that has 4 buttons where I am allowing the user to pick a new app background. How do I change the background of all the 5 view controllers to the background the user has picked. Basically I am trying to change the imageView of all view controllers to the image that user picks in the settings view controller. Can anyone out there help me?

1.Declare global variable(right under import UIKit) like this
var imageName = “”
2.Create IBoutlet in each ViewController for it’s imageview, name them imageview .
3.In each ViewController in viewdidload write
imageview.image = UIImage(named: imageName)
4. in your button that you want to change set the name of the image
imageName = “the name of your image”

1 Like

Thanks for getting back. The first line that you are asking me to type “var imageName under import UIKit” will reside in which view controller? Do you mean type this inside settings view controller?

It is global variable. That means it is visible to all viewcontrollers. It does not matter in what view controller you type.

1 Like

Ok. Thanks. Let me give a try. I will get back to you shortly. Thanks again.

You are welcome ) If you have any questions concerning this let me know.

1 Like

I think I am doing something wrong. I did do what you said but it did not work. Please bear with me so I can explain you below.