Christopher's HealthKit App Challenge Journal

Day 1 & 2

The first days were spent planning out my app and making mocks in Figma. The export for the images didn’t render properly in some cases (mainly the drink type menu), but it should give an idea of what I’m going for.

I did plan out some onboarding screens, but I’m not entirely sure what I want them look to like.

There are some things like Apple Health support, adding custom drink types, and a selectable accent color I’d like to add, but I’m not entirely sure what type of time I’ll have since college started for me last week.

I believe what I mocked up here should be doable at the very least.

Tomorrow, on Labor Day, (since I don’t have any plans) I’ll probably start coding this all in.

2 Likes

Looks good Christopher! I’m excited to see the end product!

1 Like

Day 3

Today I started coding in the UI. Here is how it looks in Dark Mode:

As you may have noticed, some things look a little different from my mocks in Figma.

I decided to give the drink logging it’s own screen separate from the data. The drink type is with a Segmented Picker instead of a Menu Picker. Since I have more space to work with now, I expanded the date/time picker, which is locked to make future dates unselectable.

The Settings took some reworking, especially for the Daily Goal. How I had it mocked up, it turns out, isn’t possible (or at least I couldn’t get it to work). To change the goal, a second screen is added where you can type in the number.

The other settings didn’t really change from the mock. However, I’d like to change the unit picker screen so it conforms to the rest of the settings UI and add a title. I haven’t figured out how to do this yet.

I’ve been considering have an extra tab that shows your hydration data in more detail. At the very least showing a breakup of when you drank something and what it was.