CSV Data Into App + Search

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to read this. I am relatively new to Swift and am trying to create an app that will self-download/self-update from a .csv file from a URL, which will be filtered by a search from the user. So, the user would search a keyword of a row within the .csv file i.e. “Oregon” and the data for Oregon’s row would pop up. I am not sure how to make the data from the URL self-updating (like a network link) nor how to create the search through the CSV data. Is there a video from CodeWithChris or an article/video that would address this? Sorry, I am very new and am trying to figure out how to start :slight_smile: ! If any question could be clarified, I would really appreciate it as I know I am asking for you to take your time to address my concerns. Thank you for reading this again. Have a great day to you! :innocent:

I don’t know of any video that might cover what you are looking for but importing the file is relatively straight forward even if it is in a remote place requiring a URLSession to get it.

The first step is to break the file up into an array of strings with each entry in the array equating to a line from the CSV file. Each line can be separated by identifying the line terminating character \n.

Lets say that in your URLSession the file you want is located in a fictitious place like here “https://someplace.com/data.csv” and it is assigned to a URL named fileURL

(URLSession setup code precedes this)
var lines = [String]()
if let inputFile = try? String(contentsOf: fileURL) {
    lines = inputFile.components(separatedBy: "\n")
}

So now you have an array of strings representing each line in the file.

The bigger question is the format the source file is in. A CSV can be comma separated or it can be tab separated so the way you parse it into columns differs since you have to break the columns up based on the separator type. Let’s assume that it is comma separated.