Design pattern used in photo editing apps

Hello,
I’m working on a photo editing app (in Swift), and I want to communicate and send data back, for example from a brightness slider (grandchild controller) to the preview image (grandparent controller)… Currently I’m using protocol/delegate methods to send data back, but the problem as I create more grandchildren controllers the messier the code gets with all the extra protocol methods.

So my question is, what design pattern should I be using instead to have direct communication with the grandparent controller? I’m new to swift so I’m pretty much unfamiliar with any of the patterns used in such apps…

Thank you.

Welcome to the community!

What do you mean grandchild and grandparent controllers???

Some options you can use are protocol/delegate, callbacks, or Notification Center to pass data between view controllers

Like in this picture for example, I’m adding child view controllers in the same parent view controller… so no navigation

Are you absolutely sure that you need to have multiple ViewControllers in the same View?

What is the purpose of Controller A B and C?

A slider, for example, is simply a Control that can be implemented within a ViewController and does not need to be in its own ViewController. If the slider is there to adjust, say, brightness or contrast then that can be activated to appear to allow that adjustment to be made and you could close it by tapping an associated Done button. That could be the approach for any adjustment control as you progressively edit an image.

Well controller B is for example a tabbar for controller C, and others… which i think has to be a child controller to controller A

Hmmm, could you give us the exact controllers you’re using for A, B and C?

That can help us determine an answer whether or not you actually need child controllers

A: Main Viewcontroller which has the live preview image.
B: Tabbar for sliders, filters, etc…