Explanation for loops (for a beginner)

Hello, I’m a complete beginner learning swift. Everything’s clear to me until I get to loops. I asked this question in the YouTube comments as well (but I noticed he asked others with questions to go here). Anyway, I was watching Chris’s video

The video itself was pretty clear. But it used only simple loops. I was doing his worksheet. It was asking to create a shape that looks like this.
x
xx
xxx
xxxx
xxxxx
xxxxxx
xxxxxxx

But the shape must be created using code. The worksheet tells me what to DO, as in what to type and what loops to create, but I don’t understand how it does it and I can’t follow the code. As it turns out, here’s the code he used to do this…
var drawPixel:String = “*”

var height:Int = 5

var tempRow:String = “”

for columnPixel in 1…height {

tempRow = “”

for _ in 1…columnPixel{

tempRow += drawPixel

}

print(tempRow)

}

Sorry about the weird formatting for the code. Anyway, I don’t really understand it at all. What does using a nested loop do? I really can’t follow it and wouldn’t be able to come up with it without the answer key. I also don’t know what the tempRow variable set to nothing does in the loop. In other words, I’m completely confused looking at this.

Clarification: var drawPixel:String = “x” not “*” if that confused anyone.

Hey @tylvaughan! Welcome to the code crew forums!

You can format your code by wrapping it with three backticks:
```
code here
```

And with that, lemme format the code for you and give you some explanation on how it works, and how I would visualize/understand it.

var drawPixel: String = "x"
var height: Int = 5
var tempRow: String = ""

for columnPixel in 1...height {
    tempRow = ""
    for _ in 1...columnPixel {
        tempRow += drawPixel
    }
    print(tempRow)
}

This code will print an output:

x
xx
xxx
xxxx
xxxxx

Understanding Loops