FirebaseAuthUI with Swift Package Manager

Hello. I am trying to switch my project from pods to Swift Package Manager. However, I can’t seem to find FirebaseAuthUI to add when I look for the packages that I need. I was able to add FirebaseAuth through Swift Package Manager, but non of the FirebaseAuthUI libraries are being recognized. Is there a way to get around this issue?

Thanks.

Hey unfortunately, FirebaseAuthUI is only available as a Cocoapod. Later on in that module though, you won’t even need that pod, so can use strictly Swift packages :slight_smile:

Thanks RedFox. This is my first time using the CodewithChris message board. I can see now that there are multiple threads so forgive me if my replies seem repetitive. I havent quite figured out how to use this message board yet.

So you provided a key fact: FirebaseAuthUI is only available through Cocoapods. Lesson 2 should probably make that fact clear.

A Newbie like me is trying to figure out what’s best for user authentication.

In Lessons 2 and 3, I see tow paths: Firebase drop-in vs. Firebase custom.

From the way Firebase drop-in is presented in Lesson 2, it seems like drop-in is being recommended as preferred to Firebase custom of Lesson 3.

I didn’t know which to use so I am trying both. I had to guess that FirebaseAuthUI is only available through Cocoapods, so thank you for confirming my guess.

With the confirmation that FirebaseAuthUI is only available through Cocoapods, then my decision about user authentication has become entangled with another question: Is it better to avoid Cocoapods if possible?

Cocoapods is so widely used, perhaps Cocoapods is a more robust element than the swift package manager.

The idea of a “drop-in” was very attractive because it seems to me that the industry adoption of some sort of de-facto standard for user authentication seems inevitable.