How to set a custom background color to a Hstack?

Hi,

I am new to iOS development. I love Chris, I think he is the best.

I am now trying to set a custom background color to a Hstack, with this :slight_smile:
.background(Color(red: 73, green: 191, blue: 229))

and it doesn not work.

I am already confused at this point. Should I use the background method or the backgroundStyle. If I try with .background and then I type color in the parameters I see a long list of 30 COLOR things: Methods? Instances? Values , I have no clue what they are. Which one pertain to SwitfUI…

The bigger issue is for me to understand how to peruse the documentation to achieve my coding goals.

Chris please do a “How to use the iOS documentation” video.

I have been spending 1 hour to set a custom background color to a vstack, that is crazy!

Thank you for pointers guys but what I really need is to understand how to use the documentation.

• Screen Shot 2022-10-10 at 20.47.43

@Torriep

Welcome to the community.

What is the code you currently have in your View? We may be able to point you in the right direction if you paste your code in a reply.

Paste your code in as text, rather than providing a screenshot.

To format the code nicely, place 3 back-ticks ``` on the line above your code and 3 back-ticks ``` on the line below your code. Like this:

```
Code goes here
```

The 3 back-ticks must be the ONLY characters on the line. The back-tick character is located on the same keyboard key as the tilde character ~ (which is located below the Esc key - QWERTY keyboard).

Alternatively after you paste in your code, select that code block and click the </> button on the toolbar. This does the same thing as manually typing the 3 back ticks on the line above and below your code.

This also makes it easier for anyone assisting as they can copy the code and carry out some testing.

Hi Chris,

This is the code

…
HStack
{
Text(“S”)
Text(“Monthly”).padding(0)
Spacer()