I am a 70 years old semi retired engineer

I am a semi retired electrical engineer and need to keep my mind sharp.
I am 70 years old and I have decided to learn swift programming. I have taken python classes and learned the basics.
I am following Chris lessons and find them clear and to the point. Sometimes I have to watch them a couple of times.
I will keep updating this post to comment on my progress.

1 Like

Welcome to the 70’s club (I’m 70 too). I’ve been learning iOS development since 2018 so you can do this. Good luck and if you have any questions then don’t hesitate to post them.

Thanks Chirs! it is encouraging to know there are other people like my that in the 70’s want to keep learning!.Best regards

Ed

1 Like

I am trying to work on a screen with two text fields and one button. The purpose is to calculate the product of the two numbers entered in the text filed.
I conniver the text input to Doubles and then have a function that will multiply the two numbers.
This is my codeimport SwiftUI

struct ContentView: View {
@State var text1: String = “”
@State var text2: String = “”
@ State var w = Double()
func calculate() {
let v = Double(text1); let amp = Double(text2)
let W = v * amp

}

var body: some View {
    VStack {
        TextField(/*@START_MENU_TOKEN@*/"Placeholder"/*@END_MENU_TOKEN@*/,text:$text1)
            .keyboardType(/*@START_MENU_TOKEN@*/.decimalPad/*@END_MENU_TOKEN@*/)

TextField(/*@START_MENU_TOKEN@*/"Placeholder"/*@END_MENU_TOKEN@*/,text:$text2)
            .keyboardType(/*@START_MENU_TOKEN@*/.decimalPad/*@END_MENU_TOKEN@*/)

Button("Calculate") {
            calculate()

}
               }
    .padding()
}

}

#Preview {
ContentView()
}

I get an error message that say:
Binary operator ‘*’ cannot be applied to two ‘Double?’ operands

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your help