iOS app to access files in local mac shared folder

I am trying to develop a SwiftUI iOS app that requires me to read and write text files kept in a shared folder on a Mac Mini in my local network. I have shared the folder with full read&write access and I have no problems using the Finder on my development iMac to access the files in that folder. The Mac Mini has a static IP Address of 192.168.1.28 (although I would prefer to use its Shared name but cannot get that to work either). I am developing on a 2019 iMac running macOS Big Sur 11.5.2 and using Xcode 13.2.1.

It may be that I have to connect to (or “mount”) the Shared folder using the iOS app before accessing the shared folder but all my efforts to Google how to do that have left me totally confused. This seems like something that should be easy to do and my problems are probably due to bad syntax or some other trivial mistake. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. (I am new to Swift and to App development but have been programming for 50 years - mostly in real-time “C” applications before GUIs came along. Most of my problems stem from not understanding the syntax and the scope of the countless built-in functions available in Swift and the capabilities of the Xcode environment.)

My app will use the modification date of some text files to know when they have been changed and to trigger a response. The code below is just to test the function of reading the modificiation date of one shared file. If I change the file string to “file:///Users/pete/Desktop/Music.txt” then everything works fine, and I can open and save the Music.txt file on my development computer’s Desktop and the App prints the update. Switching to the local Mac Mini produces this error: Got caught by error: