My app; FamilyMeet app

I shared my experience with the CWC crew and thought it would be encouraging to share with the community too!

Some background; I’m a full time physician, and work in the critical care unit; caring for extremely sick patients. I had ZERO coding knowledge in any language. I wanted something help take my mind off work, off the stress, and be able to have my mind completely not medical related. I found refuge in these courses and I would enjoy listening and coding along the videos.

I signed up around July 2022 for the courses. After a few months, I was able to use that knowledge and coded a handful of personal applications. I was encouraged and one of the apps I just recently published on the App Store; FamilyMeet. I used all what I learned and researched adding more features (calling, video calling, sharing data, intents, sharelinks…) and put them all in this app. This app is mainly for my own personal and family use to keep everything in once place, chat privately, calendar, calls, todo, groceries… and I ended up adding a medical diagnostic tool into the app (I always get questions about common conditions and thought it would be nice to add into the application)

I’m not sure if it will be successful or fail on the App Store, but for me it’s a huge success to start from scratch, learn a language, code an app, and successfully (after many attempts) have it on the App Store. Now my 8 year old saw me learn and code. He did the first course and coded the cards game!!!

(Here is a link if you wanted to check it out and give any feedback!!)

‎FamilyMeet on the App Store

2 Likes

Oh wow that is a LOT of features, that’s impressive!! Curious to know how you handled video calling. Are you leveraging FaceTime?

Is the medical diagnostic tool like a series of MCQs that people answer to get a result, or is it a system to communicate with you about symptoms?