My Capstone project for Launch your first App

I’m just starting the nitty-gritty part of the LYFA course. Chris talks of four hurdles, he should say 5, the fifth being this whole new world of this Forum, and a Journal Entry. Frankly I don’t find this particular environment intuitive or particularly user friendly, but here I am and with your help, whoever you may be, I’ll make a success of it.

I also couldn’t see any reason not to use the pro forma intro, so here it is below:

Cheers, Brian

"Hey everyone, my name is Brian and this is the beginning of my capstone project for the Launch Your First App program.

My background is in IT (started 1969, hence the name ITDinosaur) and I’ve been learning iOS for 6 months.

Ultimately, my goal for learning iOS development is a) amuse myself b) help some mates with an app, and c) maybe make a dollar to augment my pension!

I’m looking forward to updating this project log as I progress to completing my capstone project!"

July 28, 2024
Not knowing any better and not finding any help regarding the use of this forum, I’ll just keep extending this entry until I’m told not to…

Ok, so I sat and started my list of apps, a relatively easy exercise:

1. Childs game 1.
  2. Childs game 2,
  3. Childs game 3.
  4. Language list
  5. Event Recorder
  6. Stay safe
  7. Keywords

All deliberately coded names of course. They mean something to me, so that’s all that is required. In listing them, I become immediately aware of my total inadequacy to create any except the language list and the event recorder, even then there is going have to be a ton more serious study and practice to get the right skills to make them, and make them useful.

Skills I don’t have and haven’t seen anywhere in CWC

Event recorder.
allowing user to input an image, by file upload, by using camera or download from web
creating a file, text or otherwise,
Access to upload file to other computer such as a MAC