My Journey: from Zero to First Job

Hi everyone! Hope you are having a good day!
Finally, I’ve decided to start my own journal. I’ve been studying iOS programming for about 7 months now. I’m also working full-time, so I study in the evenings mostly. I’ve already completed UIKit Foundations and most of iOS Databases (I need to explore CoreData and Realm).
However, I still struggle with building my portfolio, it feels so complicated to build an app from scratch! So I try to practice a lot. I’ve already built and committed a simple project to GitHub (not without some roadblocks presented by Firebase) and attached the link to my CV.

My ultimate goal is to land a job as a junior iOS developer by summer. And also, to find a decent idea and launch some useful app (maybe even to make it to the AppStore).

Also, I’d like to thank Chris for such amazing courses! Very suitable for beginner like me, I really started to see the light in the end of the tunnel! :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

All the best Yulia. Lot’s of people here to help out if you get stuck. Sometimes Chris Ching makes an appearance here but he is generally very busy creating content for the courses that are planned. The rest of us just enjoy helping out in whatever way we can.

3 Likes

Hi Yulia,
I hope you are on your way to land a job as a junior iOS developer. I have a suggestion that you might want to take in the interest of time (to help you save a little bit of some time). I feel like you should skip the Realm training for the time being until Chris Ching has updated the Realm Training. So do module 5 and module 6 in the Database courses and move on to some of the One-Day Builds.

What’s funny about the first paragraph you wrote is that yesterday, I finished the Database course and got started on some of the One-Day Builds haha.