NYvoyager learns Swift

I am a biomedical technician with a background in basic electronics. I’ve dabbled with arduino code and then thought it would be great if my coding could eventually net some kind of profound result. More than just a complex circuit on a breadboard. So I started to look into Swift as I am an avid fan of apple produccts and as a platform it seems to offer opportunity to create something I can distribute to the many Idevices out in the wild.
The journey began around March 2023: Starting with the App Swift Playgrounds. Apple says “anyone can learn Swift!”
Messing around with Arduino introduced the idea of declaring variables and constants. The similarities ended there.
I have been a subscriber of CWC+ for a few months. The site made me an offer I couldn’t refuse upto 8 months at a bargain price.

So here I am . Currenlty I am on lesson 8 of iOS foundations. Structures lesson was fun.
I’m not great at math though :cry:
But I have committed to putting in at least an hour a day. Unfortunately that usually means of at least 3 hours of sitting with the material due to problems with my attention span. I have to constatnly bring my focus back and keep my eyes on the prize. I’m 43 and live and work in Florida.
I won’t lie the material is complex and It may take several reiterations of the subjects for me to grasp something. As of right now, I have a workable knowledge of the syntax. OMG does Xcode complain, and sometimes with out cause. sometimes nothing is wrong and I have to just close it and restart it for a nagging complaint to go away. Wonder if others experience this or is this a fault of my installation?

Let greeting:String = “I’ll be seeking guidance, advice and mentorship here”

I have also recently posted on the Swift.org forums becuase they appear to have a mentorship program running for 2023. I would welcome a mentor.

8 years ago; a Biomedical Technician manager took me as a mentee, and he changed my life.