Philomath's Dream Job Journey Journal

This is just a thread to help me stay accountable and also document my milestones. It’s been inspiring to read other people’s stories!

I used to be a science teacher (which I absolutely adored); however, during COVID it became really clear that teaching is just not a healthy job in any way. (To give you an idea, I taught 300 children a day and they wanted to add another 100 the next year.) Not only was the workload insane, but it became impossible to stay safe during COVID with the minimal protections offered by the district.

So, it was really hard, but I decided to pivot my life. I have always wanted to make apps, so I saved up, quit my job, and dedicated myself to learning programming. Maybe someday I’d love to make a living off of my own apps, but to start I’d like to get a job in the app-making world first. I actually have a dream company that I’m really hoping to get a job with.

Milestones So Far:

• I’m almost done with a Bachelors in Information Technology. (Not a requirement, I know, but I thought I’d boost my chances by finishing the degree.)
  • I’m working on Apple’s Swift courses and I’m just starting the third book: Develop in Swift: Data Collections.
  • CWC 14 Day Beginner Challenge Complete!
  • Almost done with CWC iOS Foundations (SwiftUI) course! Two modules left!
  • I’m working on my own personal app to put into practice the skills I learn through CWC. And I think I’ve got my first version! I can’t wait to use data provided by users.
4 Likes

Thanks so much for sharing @Philomath !!

You have an amazing story! Can’t wait to see your app when you finish it!

Yes this isn’t a requirement like you said, but it can only help :slight_smile: there are lots of people in technology that don’t have degrees though, and that’s totally fine!