Saving, Printing and Emailing data from a ScrollView

Hi, I am at the final hurdle in my first app and as I am a novice coder I hope someone can steer me in the right direction with a solution to a problem:-

My app is a medical ‘decision making tool’ for clinicians that involves the medic entering various client medical data via pickers, sliders and switches. This data is then collated, processed and presented in an on-screen ScrollView report. This report displays the declared client data plus recommendations as to the action that should be carried out by the clinician based on the data submitted. (The ScrollView actually contains all possible clinical actions but the non-relevant text is ‘hidden’ dependant on the entered client data).

So far so good, the app is working in terms of the results displayed on the iPhone or iPad screen. However, legislation requires medics to store records of client consultations and so my last step is to try to print or save or email the report from within the app.

I have added a Toolbar to the foot of the ScrollView with the usual export symbol as a BarButton. What I would like to happen is when the medic taps this button , the displayed report is converted to a PDF which could be stored using the usual users apps such as iBooks, Save to Local Files or E-Mailed to the medic’s clinic address.

However, I do not know how to do this! I have read that I may need to use ‘Core Data’ or somehow convert the UIView to a PDF.

This is a big ask but I am hoping an experienced Code Crew Community member can help and advise me on this.

Kind regards,
Rhys

Hi Rhys! Sounds like a great app!

CoreData is for storing data locally on a phone. I’d begin googling “how to create a PDF” and you’ll need to know how to use the “share sheet” which is what pops up when you click export and can then save/email the file

Hi @Rhys