SwiftData vs Core Data

I just saw Chris’s video on SwiftData and I think I’d really like to go that route on the next version of my app. Currently, my app has Core Data. It is a Pickleball app that contains lots of drills/teaching points. On each drill view, there is a button that, when clicked, adds the name of that drill to the “My Plan” list (basically a notes list) which is in a separate section (and it also adds the drill explanation into the notes as well). So, when the user goes to their My Plan list to pick a drill to work on, it will show on the list. Before I go full on into Swift Data, is this something that will be a capability in Swift Data?
Background: I’m not an expert coder by any means - just learned through tutorials (mainly Chris videos).

@adelman3

Welcome to the community.

SwiftData and Core Data are essentially the same database available on an iOS device. The difference is that SwiftData is a brand new API (available in iOS 17 and beyond) to interface the database and make the code more “Swift like” as it were, whereas the old (current) Core Data API was somewhat difficult to use or get your head around.

So in nutshell, the SwiftData API will not be available until Xcode 15 and iOS 17 are released (maybe September ???). For the time being you will have to stick to using Core Data in it’s current form.

Got it. Thanks so much. So, same capabilities just a more friendly interface as I understand your response. Do you think it will be fairly easy to convert a project from the current form of Core Data to the new SwiftData when it becomes available?

Exactly.

I think (???) there is a WWDC tutorial on SwiftData where there was a demo on that.

Great! Would you happen to know the link or in what section/day it’s in? I’ve been searching through each day and there doesn’t seem to be a search box to help find the topic.