SwiftUI Dismiss Keyboard

Hi,

First off… thank you for the help !

SwiftUI… I have a simple text field and when the user taps on it, I have managed to have a Decimal Keyboard appear.

However I need it to be able to dismiss as well, perhaps by simply taping on another part of the screen.

I have searched and searched, but have found nothing simple to dismiss the keyboard.

Hoping you have a simple solution.

Thanks.

Craig.

Create a button and have an IBOutlet for it. When the user taps the button, it should take the input from the text field and store it in a string, like this:
@IBAction func GuessButton(_ sender: AnyPreformatted text) {

//Takes input of type here box

inp = TypeHereBox.text!

Let me know if this works
YourAvgCoder

1 Like

Hi,
Thanks for the eccellent reply…
However I am just running SwiftUI so there is not IBOutlet… I’m a newbie, perhaps I’m missing something.

Cheers.

Craig.

Hi Craig,

This should get you going anyway. I figured out how to get the tapGesture in the TextField to dismiss the keyboard just not the empty space yet. I am out of time, but this should get you going ion the right direction anyway.

extension View {
        func endEditing(_ force: Bool) {
            UIApplication.shared.windows.forEach { $0.endEditing(force)}
        }

And then to the Container, VStack, HStack, add the following modifier to call it.

.onTapGesture {
            self.endEditing(true)

}

When I get a chance, I will see if I can experiment with adding it to a Spacer() or something.

If you figure it out before I get to it, I would love to hear how you solved this.

I am REALLY new to SwiftUI so I am bumbling my way through it.

If you were asking about the “old way” I would have an answer in a shot! lol

Good luck.
Blessings,
—Mark

1 Like

Hi Mark,

Great mate… I’ll see how I go with it… I am and old newbie and find it hard to learn but continue on.

Thanks for the idea… will give it a go and let you know.

Yes… UIKit would have been a breeze.