UIKit for absolute beginner

Hi all,

I’m a complete beginner and due to the advanced age of my iMac (14 years and going strong) have had to install XCode 7.2 which only offers UIKit. I’m on session 3 of the Beginner course but am already seeing a number of differences with SwiftUI and am not sure I can get much further. From reading these forums and a little online I think learning UIKit first will stand me in good stead to learn SwiftUI later so I’m happy to continue with it, at least until I can upgrade my computer (aware that I will not be able to distribute anything until I do this but just learning for now).

My question is, are the early UIKit topics (e.g. iOS Foundations with UIKit, iOS Databases with UIKit) pitched at a level where I should be able to follow along without having done a beginner course? I can’t afford to pay to sign up if I won’t be able to utilise them. I have done some HTML coding in the past so conceptually at least I feel some familiarity with what I’ve seen so far, although app development seems more complex.

If I need to look elsewhere for an extreme beginner’s introduction to UIKit along the lines of the 14 Day Beginner Challenge, any reccomendations for good ones will be appreciated. I’ll definitely head back here to learn more as I like Chris’ approach.

Thanks
Clare

@Everclare

Welcome to the community.

Just as a point of interest what model is your iMac and what is the latest version of OSX (macOS) that you can install on it? I may be asking you about something that you have already delved into as far as upgrading your iMac as far as you can in terms of the OS and then getting the latest version of Xcode installed. If you have already been down that path then ignore the question.