Upskilling & Adapting - JR's Journal

I’m a newbie here, but I hope this will be the start of a fantastic journey.

I’ve coded in a small way on the web (PHP & stuff) as a necessity of my work, for quite some time. Recent circumstances have left me with more time and less work, and with no real positive outlook for the future.

After doing quite a bit of soul-searching over the last couple of weeks, I realised that the one thing I would really like to do is to build on the little coding knowledge/experience I have and do something productive with it, something relevant in today’s world.

With “today’s world” seemingly centred around “apps”, the logical choice was to see if I could “upskill” my old knowledge to something more modern.

A bit of searching brought me to Xcode and CodeWithChris. Without much in the way of available funds, Chris’ 14-day challenge has proven to be right up my street.

App coding/Xcode looked pretty impossible to me, even with the knowledge/experience I already had, but Chris’ step-by-step lessons have made me realise that a lot of what I already know is still relevant. It’s about adapting what I know into what I need to know, and Chris has done a great job in showing me how to do this.

When I’ve finished the challenges, I hope to be able to sign up to CWC+ but that may be a while due to cost.

I’m glad I’ve started on this journey, and I’m grateful to Chris for providing his 14-day challenge at no-cost so that I could decide if this is the path I want to be on. And, it is!

1 Like

Good luck in your journey. You’ve got the right attitude which will always help.

1 Like

Four days to do the Beginners Challenge, and I’m hooked.

Signed up to CWC+ and raring to go now.

Fulfilling my desire to learn new things.

1 Like

Learning new things is so much fun!! Chris also has tons of free content on YouTube!

Excited to see what you build with all your new knowledge

1 Like

Today my journey really begins.