Using PDF's in Apps

I have been searching for a while on how to best add PDF’s in apps. I know about the services that help you do this but I do not want to use those. PDFTron and the like.
I want to make an app that’s really simple, I am new to swift.
I would like to just have a list view on the first page with a title and image. the list view will have categories. When I tap on of the items it will go to a new page and give info and on that page I will have a button to view the corresponding PDF. I do not want to leave the app and view that PDF in the IOS PDF viewer or Adobe Acrobat. It will not be editable just printable.
I started this in SwiftUI and got the UI pretty much worked out except the PDF. I was looking into storing the info in an API in GFirebase and then using JSON to bring that into the app but need it to be PDF format.
Not looking for code just a direction. Everything I see has an Idea on how to but no one really gives it more than a cursory look or just says use JSON and doesn’t show the code of the helper file… Thanks for reading this post and look forward to everyones thoughts.

1 Like

Hi @jel111 welcome to the community!

I have an app that I present four different PDFs to the user depending on their selection.

Just add the pdfs to your bundle (drag them in) and here is the code to display them.

//name below is the file name of the pdf, I passed the string in with the method property. 

if let path = Bundle.main.path(forResource: name, ofType: "pdf") {
            let url = URL(fileURLWithPath: path)
            if let pdfDocument = PDFDocument(url: url) {
                pdfView.displayMode = .singlePageContinuous
                pdfView.autoScales = true
                pdfView.displayDirection = .vertical
                pdfView.document = pdfDocument
            }
        }

You will need to create a PDFView in the ViewController you want to display them.

Blessings,
—Mark

2 Likes

Hi Mark,