Not sinking in. Need suggestions

Hello… Newbie here. I’ve noticed I’m not absorbing most of the syntax format, and I never know which method or variable is needed. In the challenges, I draw a blank every time, have no idea where to start, and always have to cheat and look at the example, AND copy all of it down instead of doing it on my own. Is this a normal occurrence? Am I the only one who is this lost? Maybe it’s an age thing. I mean, I AM half a century old. Any thoughts? Should I even continue trying to code? I want to but I don’t know if I’m going to get it.

Thanks for your suggestions and comments.

2 Likes

@DTreks

Hi Duane,

Don’t worry, you would not be the first to scratch your head and wonder “how on earth should I approach this challenge”.

As long as you have given it your best shot that’s great. Looking at the solution is not an admission of defeat. It’s all part of the learning process and we have all been there on our own journeys. Even now there are still some things that I struggle a little with like Dictionaries.

You will find that over time you will often refer back to code that you wrote ages ago but had forgotten how you went about it. Repetition creates muscle memory and you will eventually find it easier and easier.

If there is something that you are not suer about then by all means ask a question before resorting to looking at the solution. A hint is all you might need.

4 Likes

@DTreks Howdy DTreks. Another half century student here along with you for the ride. I’ve done the 14 day beginner challenge, have completed CWC+ module 1, and am 2 lessons into module 2. Right now I am very much aware that I am sharper in the morning compared to the afternoon, and like you I am feeling quite lost.